South Australia

ACA – SA is active in many areas affecting the business of architecture and represents members in wide-ranging discussions with industry, government and universities.

ACA – SA is also a member of the Construction Industry Forum, which provides an important ongoing opportunity to liaise with the Department of Planning, Transport and Infrastructure.

Roundtables and Events

Each year our event calendar begins with a Welcome Breakfast to invite members to hear about our plans for the year. In August we hold our annual Business of Design Lunch featuring a keynote speaker – previous speakers have included Kerstin Thompson and Sean Godsell.

Bi-monthly roundtables enable members to discuss varied issues with other architects and with those from related industries. Recent events have explored the following topics:

  • Novated D&C
  • Small businesses in architecture
  • Future trends in architectural computing
  • South Australia’s post COVID economy

Keith Neighbour graduate study program

A highly successful program that gives graduates studying for registration the chance to form study groups with guidance from recently registered architects. Each year new mentors come from previous study groups. This program is supported by sponsor Chris Tan Consulting.

Practice Managers Group

This group meets informally to discuss matters of common interest, which may include accounting, insurance, HR and general practice issues. Contact Sascha Byrne for more information.

Find out more about ACA – SA activities and events

Contact details

ACA – SA President

John Held

Executive officer

Sascha Byrne


1300 653 026


c/o JPE Design Studio
4/19 Gilles Street
Adelaide SA 5000

ABN 16 973 810 037

ACA – SA Committee


John Held (Russell and Yelland)

Vice President

Mario Dreosti (Brown Falconer)


Catherine Startari (GHD Design)


Matthew Thomas (JPE Design Studio)


Kirsty Hewitt (Khab Architects)
David Kilpatrick (Kilpatrick Architecture)
Susan Phillips (Phillips/Pilkington Architects)
Simon Frost (Greenway Architects)
Justin Cucchiarelli (Studio Nine Architects)
Mark Berlangieri (Walter Brooke & Associates)
Kat Dujmovic (Katherine Anne Architect)
Michael Hegarty (dwp Australia)


The ACA acknowledges the Traditional Custodians of the land and waters of Australia.