Architecture in Australia - International Comparisons

21 July 2015

The Architects Accreditation Council of Australia has launched a new online matrix enabling the comparison of registration requirements in Australia and elsewhere. This is complemented by an overview of the Australian architecture industry.  

new section of the AACA website allows users to compare registration requirements in Australia with those in countries with broadly comparable systems of registration – New Zealand, the United States of America, Canada, Singapore and Hong Kong. 

The overview explains that, un order for people to use the title ‘architect’, each country requires:

  • five years of accredited full-time university study (or accepted alternative);
  • between two and three years of professional experience;
  • sitting of a professional examination; and
  • registration by a registering body referenced in statute and authorised to undertake disciplinary action in relation to professional conduct.

The comparison can then be explored in detail through an online matrix

The industry profile of Australia's Architecture Sector, provides a very useful, detailed summary, drawing on a range of sources and including new data from the 2011 Census.



comments powered by Disqus