On Career Development

24 August 2022

The next Stepping Up session looks at career development, planning and progression, with a focus on tools to support transparent manageable, inclusive processes within architectural practices.

Join the ACA, Parlour and the Champions of Change Architecture Group for a considered discussion on 12 September with David Randerson of DKO, Thihoa Gill of Grimshaw and Brian Clohessy of BVN.

Career progression in architecture is often mysterious for many. This session explores the importance of clarity, transparency and equity in career planning and progression. It introduces the Role Descriptions toolkit developed by the Champions of Change Architecture Group. This can be used to create role descriptions, map equitable career advancement and identify areas for personal and professional development and aspiration. Competency levels can then be determined by business needs and can be used to map the whole practice’s capability to inform recruitment as well as training and mentoring programs.

When & where

Online, Monday 12 September

12.30–1.30pm AEST (QLD, NSW, VIC, ACT, TAS)
12–1pm ACST (NT, SA)
10.30–11.30am AWST (WA)
2.30–3.30pm NZ

CPD

One hour of formal CPD is available for each session, on completion of the CPD questions. A link to the questions will be sent the week before the session. See the learning objectives for the series as a whole.

Once completed, you will receive an email from Google forms with your responses. Please keep this – it provides the evidence of attendance and completion. Please note, separate CPD certificates will not be issued. If you can’t find the email, remember to check your spam folder.

Bookings

ACA members / Parlour Collective – $25
General ticket – $40
Concession – $10 (students, part-timers and anyone else who needs it)

We operate on an honesty system – select the ticket type that aligns with your circumstances. Any proceeds over and above the costs of delivering the Stepping Up program will be set aside for future equity projects led by Parlour.

Bookings are open for all sessions. If you would like to book multiple sessions, select the first session and head to the checkout. Then, in the pop-up window, select ‘Buy more tickets’ to add more sessions before making payment.

 

Stepping Up is an event and editorial collaboration between Parlour, the ACA and the Champions of Change Architecture group.