SA Committee Changes

20 July 2022

The SA Committee would like to thank outgoing members Ian Hore, Graham Hardy and Simon Thomson, and introduce three new members – Simon Frost, Katherine Dujmovic and Michael Hegarty. Welcome to all!

Farewell and thanks!

Volunteering to manage the finances, coordinate elections and minute committee meetings, or champion contract negotiations with government, are significant pieces of work that most of us do not undertake. They are, however, crucial to the work of the ACA, enabling the Committee to represent our profession capably and efficiently. Ian Hore, Graham Hardy and Simon Thomson have fulfilled these roles for many years for the South Australian Chapter and are now retiring from the next cycle of committee membership.

Simon Thomson remembers his first committee meeting on 25 July 2007. The meeting highlighted key concerns of the time, including the job readiness of graduates and skill shortages in the profession. He says,

“It’s interesting that most of the issues then are still relevant and current today. This next group of committee members have a significant challenge ahead of them.”

Simon also goes on to say that he has seen a huge increase in participation over the past 15 years. Membership has grown from 26 to 74 over that time, the Committee is larger and more diverse than ever, and we have so much more to offer our membership base now.

On behalf of all architectural practices who have benefitted from advice, CPD and representation, we thank Ian, Graham and Simon for the many hours of enthusiasm and commitment they have offered over many years and wish them the very best with some more free time.

John Held, ACA SA Branch President and Mario Dreosti, ACA SA Vice-President

  • Left to right: Katherine Dujmovic, Simon Frost & Michael Hegarty


We would like to introduce our new SA Committee members:


Kat is a Director at Grounded Place, a new boutique, residential Architecture Studio based in Adelaide. Kat has been a practice director for 6 years and has worked in small practice for 12 years, as well as an active member of the ACA for the last 4 years.

She is passionate about designing healthy homes that are good for people, living and the environment. Kat is committed working collaboratively with local South Australian businesses and artisans to embrace the best South Australia has to offer and showcasing local products in considered design.


Simon is a Director of Greenway Architects, a medium sized commercial studio, delivering a wide range of projects across all sectors over nearly 25 years in practice. The desire to produce better spaces for all, and to create these spaces through form, function and detail, drives him. His skill is in using this collective approach in delivering Public, Education and Civic architecture as well as all other forms of built environments. He collaboratively leads projects through culture, dialogue and listening, believing that the best outcomes are derived from acceptance and integration of all three.

He is an active member of the ACA, as well as the AIA and is also an Examiner for the Architectural Practice Board. He is also the Facilitator of the Architects Mental Wellbeing Forum SA.


Michael Hegarty is dwp Group CEO and an architect with over 30 years’ experience, having led architecture practices that work across the globe from the UK, Asia, UAE, Ireland and Australia. Michael was a recipient of the Royal Society for the Arts award for Art and Architecture. He is a member of the South Australia State Design Review Panel and has taught architecture at a Masters level at the University of Adelaide, University of Ulster and Queens University Belfast.