Seasons Greetings from Qld/NT

Mark Williams , 15 December 2016

President Mark Williams reflects on a successful and busy year for ACA – Qld/NT.

We are fast approaching the end of 2016 and, as I reflect, work life has been particularly busy for many architectural practices and we look forward to a buoyant year in 2017.

During the year, the ACA – Qld/NT conducted 12 events, including two regional events – one in Townsville and the other held in the Northern Territory. The program was diverse and included six site tours, two seminars, two lunch forums and the Member Dinner and Deep Knowledge Award.

I would like to thank our Corporate Partners for their contribution to the events program through their attendance and sponsorship support of the Events Program.

  • Ardex Australia
  • Stokes Wheeler
  • GWA Bathrooms and Kitchens
  • Armstrong Commercial Flooring
  • James Hardie Australia
  • Interface
  • Kennedy’s Classic Aged Timbers
  • Stiebel Eltron
  • Enware Australia
  • Ashburner Francis

The strength of this Branch is due to the engagement of members and the dedication of our Management Committee.  2016 was an election year and Geoff Street retired from the Committee. I would like to thank Geoff for his contribution to the ACA over the past nine years, both at State and National levels. We welcomed three new Committee Members – Steven Huntingford of Jackman Gooden Architects (NT), Charmaine Kai of 8i Architects, Don Marshall of Thomson Adsett (see here for profiles of Charmaine and Don).

The ACA has continued to see steady membership growth throughout Australia. We are continuing to develop the Business Toolbox, the Salary Survey was well-supported this year and we look forward to launching the 2017 Survey in the first half of next year. The Calendar of Events will be out soon so you can lock the dates into your diaries.

On behalf of the Committee, I would like to wish you and your families a safe and enjoyable festive break and a prosperous 2017.

Merry Christmas!!!

Mark Williams

Mark Williams is ACA – Qld/NT President.