The Architects Award

21 April 2020 - Updated: 1 July 2024

All architectural businesses must understand their obligations under the Architects Award. Here we include a short overview of the award, the ACA’s role in negotiating it, and the assistance we provide to members regarding the Award.

Updated Awards are available to all ACA members. Log in to access below.

The ACA is the designated employer organisation for architects under Fair Work Australia. In this capacity we represent architectural employers in negotiating all changes to the Architects Award, and in representing members on related industrial matters. We encourage all architectural employers to familiarise themselves with the award and their obligations under it.

Note: New rates of pay are applicable from 1 July 2024, which factor in the 3.75% increase in modern Award pay rates.

The Architects Award incorporates all amendments up to and including 30 October 2023. Clause 13 has been updated to incorporate the new National Standards of Competency for Architects (NSCA).

What is the Architects Award?

The Architects Award is part of the Modern Awards system. The Award should be read in conjunction with the National Employment Standards (NES). Together the Award and the NES contain the minimum conditions of employment for employees covered by the Architects Award.

The Architects Award is organised into the following sections:

  • Application and Operation (Part 1)
  • Types of Employment and Classifications (Part 2)
  • Hours of Work (Part 3)
  • Minimum Wages and Related Matters (Part 4)
  • Overtime (Part 5)
  • Leave and Public Holidays (Part 6)
  • Consultation and Dispute Resolution (Part 7)
  • Termination of Employment and Redundancy (Part 8)

The Award includes a detailed description of whom it covers (section 1.4). Employers should note that the Architects Award includes minimum wages for students of architecture and graduates, as well as registered architects.

The Award states that employers must ensure that copies of this award and the NES are available to all employees to whom they apply, either on a noticeboard that is conveniently located at or near the workplace or through electronic means, whichever makes them more accessible.

The updated Awards (with pay rates from 1 July 2024) are available to all ACA members – log in to access below.  If you aren’t a member, find out more about the benefits of ACA membership here.

How does the ACA help?

The ACA provides regular updates on changes to the minimum wage and the impact of these on the Architects Award and other relevant awards.

The Industrial Awards section of this website provides information and advice on a range of matters relating to the Architects Award.

The ACA represents the interests of employer architects via the ACA Industrial Relations Committee.

NOTE: Member Only Content