Western Australia

ACA – WA is focused on addressing issues that affect the business of architecture and helping its members to operate as efficiently and profitably as possible.

The WA committee meets monthly and the branch is active in monthly teleconferences with all of the other state branches as well as face-to-face meetings of the National Executive Committee.

ACA – WA is an active member of the Built Environment Design Professions (BEDP) committee, which meets three times every year with representatives of Building Management and Works to discuss issues of common interest in the delivery of public works in WA.

We hold a minimum of three members’ luncheons each year. These informal events aim to build collegiality within the profession by providing a relaxed forum to discuss issues that are common to all practitioners.

We also donate prizes to the schools of architecture at the University of Western Australia and Curtin University of Technology.

Our current areas of focus are:

  • Ongoing discussions with Building Management and Works over the terms of their consultancy agreement applicable to the Architectural Panel 2012.
  • Ongoing discussions with providers of computer-aided drawing software in an attempt to obtain a better financial deal for our members
  • Preparing information to members regarding their responsibility towards Safety in Design.
  • Preparing guidelines for best practice procurement of architectural services to inform client bodies, particularly local government, about the pitfalls of current tendering practices.
  • Producing salary surveys to assist members in setting appropriate remuneration levels.
  • Providing information to members regarding conditions of employment.
  • Ongoing discussions with providers of Professional Indemnity insurance regarding full coverage of AS 4122 conditions.

Read all posts relating to ACA – WA.




Malcolm Jones

Executive officer

Emma Brain

PO Box 365
West Perth, WA 6872 

ABN 74 277 417 252

ACA – WA Committee


Malcolm Jones (Meyer Shircore and Associates)

Vice President

Michael Gay (MSG Architecture)


Janine Marsh (Doepel Marsh Architects)


Leigh Robinson (Taylor Robinson)
Kate FitzGerald (Whispering Smith Architecture)
Michael Gay (MSG Architecture)
Kukame McPierzie (Gresley Abas)
Andrew Rogerson (COX Architecture)
David Gulland (Hassell)